Pausing For Breath

Apologies again for the lack of updates recently.  I’ve been watching plenty of football but university and other things haven’t left me with much time to write about it.

This season has taken me all over Teesside and beyond, taking in the delights of Whitby Town, the ‘ghost town’ experience of Jarrow Roofing and the warm and friendly welcome of Penrith.

I’ve seen Marske United suffer a 10-game winless streak and more recently, a two-and-a-half month unbeaten run  in the Northern League.  I’ve seen a goalless draw played in near-hurricane force winds and a nine-goal thriller that I only went to because other games had been called off.

So much to talk about and so little time…

Sadly, as I reach the end of my degree course, the realisation grows that my weekly obsession with non-league football in this part of the world may soon be coming to an end.

The end of university means hunting for jobs and for a would-be journalist like myself, Teesside probably isn’t the best place to be, meaning moving elsewhere if I am to pursue a career.

One opportunity has already arisen but it’s a long way from home. Nothing is ever guaranteed but I don’t want to be sitting around without a job when I finish university so if I am offered the position, I will have to take it, especially as I have far fewer reasons to stay (football aside) than I did when I started my course.  But that’s another story.

In the meantime, I’ll still be trying to watch as much football as I can, visit as many grounds as I can and, time permitting, update this blog as much as I can.

There’s still much to play for this season with the honour of being Teesside’s top team still up for grabs and Billingham Synthonia still harbouring Wembley ambitions after reaching the last 16 of the FA Vase.

I’ve seen games at 16 different grounds so far this season, double the number I managed in the whole of last season.  My total is put to shame however, by Footy Ramblings’ James Williams who is on course to complete the full set of all 44 grounds in a single season on his Northern League Tour.

Wherever  I am, the blog will keep going because football keeps going and my passion for the non-league game will keep going.

And wherever my future career takes me, deep down I will always be A Northern Soul.

Leave a comment